Two men sitting on a couch and reacting while watching a soccer game on TV

Just three months after Manchester City were crowned English Premier League (EPL) champions for the third consecutive season, the race for the title will kick off again Friday, August 11.

Though Manchester City is the favorite to win its fourth straight title, the likes of Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea, Tottenham, Manchester United, and more will be looking to take over the top spot.

However, defeating Manchester City, after winning the Champions League and being crowned the best team in Europe, will be no easy task.

How to Watch the 2023/24 Premier League Season

All 380 Premier League matches will be broadcast on NBC’s platforms, including NBC, NBC Sports, USA Network, and Peacock. Spanish-language audiences will find games streaming on Telemundo or Universo.

That means you can access most Premier League games with the following streaming services:

  • Hulu + Live TV
  • YouTube TV
  • Fubo
  • Sling TV
  • DirecTV Stream

Major Storylines for the 2023/24 Season

From rivalries to major transfers, each season is full of entertainment from start to finish. Here are some of the top storylines to follow this year.

Will Manchester City Defend its Title?

In the 2022/23 season manager Pep Guardiola led Manchester City to its third consecutive Premier League title. No team has ever won four titles in a row, meaning Manchester City is aiming to make history this year.

Essential to last season’s success and this year’s goal of four consecutive titles is striker Erling Haaland, who scored 52 goals in all competitions last season and managed a record-breaking 36 goals from 35 appearances in the Premier League.

Having won five of the last six Premier League titles, Manchester City is an overwhelming favorite to win it again this season.

Transfer Activity

The Premier League has already seen an incredible amount of transfer activity with several big name players leaving to play in the Saudi Pro League, including Roberto Firmino, N’Golo Kante, Ruben Neves, and more.

While the headlines of the transfer market in previous seasons have been dominated by incoming players new to the Premier League, this season has revolved more around existing Premier League players transferring to other Premier League teams. Here are some of the biggest transfers:

  • Declan Rice from West Ham to Arsenal
  • James Maddison from Leicester City to Tottenham
  • Mason Mount from Chelsea to Manchester United
  • Alexis Mac Allister from Brighton & Hove Albion to Liverpool
  • Mateo Kovacic from Chelsea to Manchester City

Golden Boot Race

Each year a player is awarded with the Golden Boot trophy for scoring the most goals throughout the season. In 2022/23, Erling Haaland won the Golden Boot with 36 goals. Tottenham’s Harry Kane and Brentford’s Ivan Toney followed him up with 30 and 20 goals, respectively.

Haaland is the favorite to repeat as the Golden Boot winner, but players like Kane, Mohamed Salah, and Marcus Rashford are sure to make it a tight race.

2022/23 Standings

Throughout the season, teams earn points for wins and draws — three points for each win, one point for each draw, and no points for a loss. With 28 wins, five draws, and only five losses, Manchester City won the league with a total of 89 points.

Here’s a look at how all the teams fared last season:

1Manchester City89
3Manchester United75
6Brighton Hove & Albion62
7Aston Villa61
11Crystal Palace45
14West Ham40
16Nottingham Forest38
18Leicester City34
19Leeds United31

How StreamSafely Can Keep You Safe

Before the first match kicks off, it’s important to know where and how to stream your favorite sports from home. There are countless illegal streaming sites that will offer unauthorized streams of EPL matches. Watching pirated content can lead to malware, malicious pop-up ads, fraud, and more, so it’s always best to avoid these sites.

Visit StreamSafely for all the information you need about how to safely stream sports, TV shows, and movies.

Previous articleHow to Watch the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup
Next articleAhsoka